Board of Directors

Serving OC Fair & Event Center

Members of the Board of Directors are appointed by the governor of California and serve a four-year term without compensation. Board members, who may serve more than one term, serve until a replacement is appointed. Board meetings are held the fourth Thursday of each month in the Administration Building, which is located at OCFEC through Gate 4 off of Arlington Drive, unless otherwise noted. The Fair Board’s role is to set and approve policies for the organization.

Our mission: Celebrating Orange County’s communities, interests, agriculture and heritage.

All correspondence with the Board of Directors can be addressed care of OC Fair & Event Center, 88 Fair Drive, Costa Mesa, CA 92626.

Requests for public records can be sent to

Click here to apply to become a member of the Board of Directors.

Barbara Bagneris, Chair
Member since 2014

Barbara has been principal financial analyst at Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems since 2010. She was a senior financial controls analyst at L-3 Interstate Electronics Corporation from 2008 to 2010 and held multiple positions at the Boeing Company from 1980 to 2008, including business analyst and program financial controls analyst. Bagneris is past president of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. Orange County (CA) Alumnae Chapter. She earned a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Phoenix, Fountain Valley.

Robert Ruiz, Vice Chair
Member since 2014

Robert has been secretary-treasurer at Laborers Local 652 since 2003, where he was a field agent from 2002 to 2003. He was a foreman at Peter C. David from 2000 to 2002, crew leader at Pan Pacific Plumbing from 1999 to 2000 and a contractor for Steve P. Rados from 1995 to 1999. Ruiz was a warehouse administrator at TVT Electronics from 1988 to 1995.

Ashleigh Aitken
Member since 2012

Ashleigh has been Of Counsel at Aitken Aitken Cohn since 2010. She was an assistant U.S. Attorney in the Central District of California from 2008 to 2010, an associate at Morrison and Foerster LLP from 2005 to 2008 and an associate at Nossman Guthner Knox and Elliot LLP from 2002 to 2005. Aitken earned a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Southern California, Gould School of Law.

Nick Berardino
Lake Forest
Member since 2011

Nick has served in multiple positions for the Orange County Employees Association since 1978, including general manager since 2004.

Sandra Cervantes
Member since 2014

Sandra has owned Miniondas Newspaper since 2013 and Cervantes Real Estate since 2012. She was vice president of the Century 21 Professionals REO Division from 1993 to 2011 and administrative director at the Women’s Choice Clinic from 1983 to 1993. She is managing director of the Sandra Y. Cervantes Scholarship Fund at the Hispanic Educational Endowment Fund of Orange County and a member of the National Association of Hispanic Real Estate Professionals Advisory Board and the Heritage Museum of Orange County Board of Directors.

Douglas La Belle
Costa Mesa
Member since 2010

Doug is retired and most recently served as City Manager for the City of Chino Hills from 1995 until 2009. Prior to that he served as City Manager for the City of Signal Hill and began his career in local government in 1964 with the City of Garden Grove and has worked in various administrative capacities for the cities of Cerritos, Huntington Beach, La Mesa and Marysville. He serves on the Board of Directors for Boys Republic in Chino Hills and is Chairperson of the Knapp Golf Classic Committee which raises funds for the Huntington’s Disease Society of America.

Gerardo Mouet
Santa Ana
Member since 2011

Gerardo has served in multiple positions with the City of Santa Ana since 1990, serving as executive director of Parks and Recreation since 2004.

Newton Pham
Fountain Valley
Member since 2016

Newton has been vice president at California Bank and Trust since 2014 and was the principal financial analyst at Mitsubishi Materials U.S.A. from 2012 to 2014, senior analyst at McGladrey Capital Markets LLC from 2007 to 2012 and associate consultant at Smith Barney, Citigroup Global Markets from 2004 to 2007.

Stan Tkaczyk
Newport Beach
Member since 2012

Stan served as president for the Rainbow Disposal Company from 1994 to 2004, after serving as vice president from 1971 to 1994. He serves on the Neuro-Science Advisory Board for the Hoag Memorial Presbyterian Hospital and is a member of the Benefactor Program at the Hoag Hospital Foundation. Tkaszyk is a past president of the California Refuse Removal Council.